top of page

Ordering a suit from SUITSUPPLY - My Experience

Last Wednesday, I went to London to get measured for a custom-made suit on Savile Row. And I have to say, it was an experience I recommend wholeheartedly to every man.


bespoke suit savile row gieves and hawkes
Gieves & Hawkes

What is Savile Row like?


Savile Row is one of those few amazing little streets in London that is charming, modest, historical, and still classy as ever. Other streets will include Jermyn Street (famous for shirtmakers) and old Bond Street. Savile Row is where you go if you want the best suit in the world made by the most expert tailors with the best experience.


savile row london gieves and hawkes suit supply tailors london

Gieves & Hawkes flagship store (above) is a palace of menswear and is the first major store you see as it is situated on the corner wrapping around to Vigo Street, and a whopping great Union Jack planted out of the wall. Not only that, but the famous Savile Row street address plate is also fixated on the facade.


savile row london gieves and hawkes suit supply tailors london

Quite like the history of Gieves & Hawkes, it is situated in a royal and prestigious spot. You can bet that the investment required in a bespoke suit from here is also on a royal level.


It is.


I did not go with Gieves & Hawkes not only for budgetary reasons but because a suit of that calibre I feel should be for a very special reason, and I'd certainly consider it in the future, but I would like to stress one point here:


There are equally many amazing tailors and menswear stores on Savile Row and around that have expertise and quality, and there is no reason why you should not go with them, as I did.


Where did I order a bespoke suit from?


I chose SUITSUPPLY as my tailor, and it was not a random choice. I was very confident in going there, and I am very glad I did. Though not technically located on Savile Row, it is the first store you see on Vigo Street, which is a few steps around the corner from Savile Row (opposite Gieves & Hawkes).


savile row london suit supply tailors london

The experience was very pleasant from start to finish.

There are no pre-booked appointments as such, but I was asked to make an appointment when I walked in so that somebody could be available in half an hour to guide me and consult.


After a quick espresso break in The Service (a new menswear-themed coffee shop) situated in the middle of Savile Row, I went back into the store to get started.


savile row london gieves and hawkes suit supply tailors london

What happens next?


Next, I was greeted by my style consultant, Jorge, who was impeccably helpful from the start. First, we went downstairs to see the 'rack' of suits available, but it was soon apparent that for my size and fit, it would have to be custom-made.


Going back upstairs and towards the back of the store, there is a dedicated area of consultations where whole shelves of 'books' sit in which you can look and choose various fabrics available.


savile row london gieves and hawkes suit supply tailors london

The most important thing to start with was my reasons for having a suit. Fortunately, I knew exactly what I wanted and why I wanted it. This made the process much easier.


Choosing the fabric was not so difficult because although there are many shades of e.g. Navy, there are really only a handful of fabrics that match the texture and exact shade that was better for me, plus the fabrics actually available to order.


savile row london gieves and hawkes suit supply tailors london

Measuring Up


Next, we slipped on a jacket and then trousers to really nail the fit. Everyone's measurements are individual to them, and this bit is really important to get your money's worth.


What I liked most about this experience was that my consultant and another store expert were quite firm in advising me NOT to have something in a particular way.


Naturally, because I am a slim and not a tall guy, I edge towards very slim fits, and they did accommodate for that, but there is a limit to how slim I could go; otherwise, the whole aesthetic will look, as they put it, 'too high street'.


I agreed that I definitely wanted to avoid that.


What next?


Less than two hours later, I had paid the full amount and was informed that my fully custom-made suit would take about 3-4 weeks to be delivered to the store.


Once it is there, I will go back for the second fitting and make any adjustments necessary. I'm relatively confident that it will fit perfectly when I try it on, but I will not know unless I dress exactly as I intend to wear it - with a good shirt and some proper shoes.


Now, we wait. And no one is more excited than I am to see the finished product. When that time comes, I will be back down there and hopefully documenting the process in more detail to really showcase the experience of having such a suit made by a wonderful company.


Until part two.

 

Subscribe below to support this journal and never miss the latest article!

Comments


Author Bio

John-Paul Stuthridge is an etiquette coach from the United Kingdom who teaches manners and menswear to all individuals and professionals wanting to achieve social confidence with style.

bottom of page